- 418
- 19 766 922
Keeping It Casual
United States
Приєднався 21 січ 2022
I make videos to help you understand the game of Magic: the Gathering!
Directly support my content on Patreon!
www.patreon.com/keepingitcasual
Join the Discord!
discord.com/invite/RmNJnr8TNR
Support me on my other channels!
Tiktok- www.tiktok.com/@keepingitcasualtiktok
Instagram- keepingitcasualmtg
Twitter- chookiemon
Thank you for your support!
For inquiries reach me at: therealchookiemon@gmail.com
Directly support my content on Patreon!
www.patreon.com/keepingitcasual
Join the Discord!
discord.com/invite/RmNJnr8TNR
Support me on my other channels!
Tiktok- www.tiktok.com/@keepingitcasualtiktok
Instagram- keepingitcasualmtg
Twitter- chookiemon
Thank you for your support!
For inquiries reach me at: therealchookiemon@gmail.com
How to Find Fake MTG Cards
Directly support my content on Patreon!
www.patreon.com/keepingitcasual
Listen on Spotify
podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/chookiemon
Buy cards with my affiliate link on TCG
tcgplayer.pxf.io/ankmBq
Join the Discord
discord.com/invite/RmNJnr8TNR
Support me on my other channels
Tiktok- www.tiktok.com/@keepingitcasualtiktok
Instagram- keepingitcasualmtg
Twitter- chookiemon
Merch
dobmtg.com/products/keeping-it-casual-beanie?variant=47165810213148
Contact Me
Email- therealchookiemon@gmail.com
#mtg #edh #magicthegathering #commander
www.patreon.com/keepingitcasual
Listen on Spotify
podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/chookiemon
Buy cards with my affiliate link on TCG
tcgplayer.pxf.io/ankmBq
Join the Discord
discord.com/invite/RmNJnr8TNR
Support me on my other channels
Tiktok- www.tiktok.com/@keepingitcasualtiktok
Instagram- keepingitcasualmtg
Twitter- chookiemon
Merch
dobmtg.com/products/keeping-it-casual-beanie?variant=47165810213148
Contact Me
Email- therealchookiemon@gmail.com
#mtg #edh #magicthegathering #commander
Переглядів: 1 130
Відео
Spelltable No Webcam (My Current Way) #mtg #magicthegathering
Переглядів 2,2 тис.3 місяці тому
Spelltable No Webcam (My Current Way) #mtg #magicthegathering
Why Use The Layer System in MTG? #mtg #magicthegathering
Переглядів 17 тис.5 місяців тому
Why Use The Layer System in MTG? #mtg #magicthegathering
MTG Rules Trivia Quiz ft. Wingdings #mtg #magicthegathering #edh
Переглядів 1,3 тис.9 місяців тому
MTG Rules Trivia Quiz ft. Wingdings #mtg #magicthegathering #edh
Why Doesn’t WOTC Fix the Rules For Magic: The Gathering?
Переглядів 37 тис.Рік тому
Why Doesn’t WOTC Fix the Rules For Magic: The Gathering?
How To Send Trades | Trade Chain Update
Переглядів 1,2 тис.Рік тому
How To Send Trades | Trade Chain Update
I Got Sent Fake Magic The Gathering Cards | Trade Chain Update
Переглядів 12 тис.Рік тому
I Got Sent Fake Magic The Gathering Cards | Trade Chain Update
Learning cEDH With Play To Win. #mtg #edh #mtgcommander
Переглядів 3,7 тис.Рік тому
Learning cEDH With Play To Win. #mtg #edh #mtgcommander
How To Use Moxfield On Spelltable #mtg #edh #mtgcommander
Переглядів 19 тис.Рік тому
How To Use Moxfield On Spelltable #mtg #edh #mtgcommander
Play EDH at Home | Quick + Simple SpellTable Setup #edh #mtg
Переглядів 51 тис.Рік тому
Play EDH at Home | Quick Simple SpellTable Setup #edh #mtg
Win Before You Cheat | #mtg #edh #commander
Переглядів 6 тис.Рік тому
Win Before You Cheat | #mtg #edh #commander
It's Impossible to Have This Many Tokens | Miirym + Astral Dragon + Parallel Lives | MTG
Переглядів 14 тис.Рік тому
It's Impossible to Have This Many Tokens | Miirym Astral Dragon Parallel Lives | MTG
Arixmethes + Toxicrene + Garden Hoses | Layers | Magic the Gathering Tips
Переглядів 2,6 тис.Рік тому
Arixmethes Toxicrene Garden Hoses | Layers | Magic the Gathering Tips
Legends' Legacy $10 Upgrade Gameplay | SpellTable with Strangers | EDH MTG
Переглядів 1,1 тис.2 роки тому
Legends' Legacy $10 Upgrade Gameplay | SpellTable with Strangers | EDH MTG
$10 Legends' Legacy Budget Upgrade Deck Tech for Commander
Переглядів 1,3 тис.2 роки тому
$10 Legends' Legacy Budget Upgrade Deck Tech for Commander
Can confirm. Perch protection is pretty stellar.
Spoilers??? For fucking what? A card game 😂😂😂
I feel like they would all be destroyed but swinging with one creatue would keep the others safe
Awwwwwww yiss. I loves me some circling vultures
Wouldn't the grizzly bears being a copy of the archmage be state based and thus still be considered a copy until after the spell is put on the stack and state based effects are checked? I though stated based actions couldn't occur during the casting of a spell and were only checked once the spell was actually cast.
The become a copy effect is just a continuous effect (specifically on Layer 1 for copiable values) generated by Aegis' second triggered ability, and should stop existing as soon as its condition for existing is broken - Aegis remaining attached to the creature. State-based actions are taken in response to improper conditions in the game state: essentially when the Game sees something 'wrong' as defined by the game's rules. Card effects can sometimes change (or ignore) rules, but generally do not generate their own improper conditions.
I literally just built an orzhov deck around this card and wedding ring just in the past few days
Season of the Witch is my pet card in my deck. Board state (I had a ghostly prison, and season of the witch active), they had only enough mana to pay for 1 attacker with 4 untapped creatures. Based on the wording with the judge, they said that they could have chosen any attacker to attack, so any creatures they chose not to attack are destroyed. I love this card.
You should attach aegis to an animated trinisphere just for more fun
Ooh. The Trinisphere step is still part of determining the cost though so by the time you start paying it and sac the Aegis, you will be past the point where it could apply.
SMH, I understand the stack....but that don't mean I like it!!!
Almost got me, *BUT* then I looked at Aegis again and realized returning the original wasn't a trigger.
If one attacks, then none of the rest could, therefore, they couldn't attack and won't be destroyed.
That’s… complicated Unrelated, but my cards came in the mail for Ovika. In total my cost is around 120 (Canadian) dollars, of which I had most of anyway. A bit of a higher budget than yours. Gonna play it tomorrow and to test it out
Ooh I’m sure with a bigger budget it can do nasty things
So it becomes a creature with no power and toughness values? Nothing there specifies a base power and toughness value.
Isn't it better to just activate the devourer a crapton of times and then change it to something unblockable or with trample?
The same issue with linked abilities exists where you need to have it in the yard beforehand either way. That can also only kill one player and requires you to not have summoning sickness. This combo used to see play with Necrotic Ooze since that only took activated abilities.
I have a question not related to this: if I cast Dorothea's Retribution onto a creature my opponent controls, do I create the attacking token in their combat phase?
No. If it said 'whenever enchanted creature attacks make a attacking angel' you would, but instead it says 'enchanted creature has "when this creature attacks make an attacking angel"'. Because of that, the creature has the trigger to make the angel so it will enter under that creature's controller's control.
@seandun7083 ooooh, thank you <3
First you lock in what the cost is, which counts the reduction, then you pay the cost which can’t at any point change what was already decided the cost would be, so sacrificing the aegis as the additional cost won’t then undo the cost reduction. After the cost is paid, you don’t have the trigger to draw a card anymore Edit: forgot the aegis returns the original to play
You got a lot of it right though!
it doesnt seem that bad to me. think of it this way. did you attack with one creature? if yes, no one other creature can attack. therefore, no creatures are destroyed. If not, each creature had the ability to attack, so they are all destroyed.
Nice!
What is bro pointing at? We see the card bro
I don’t think the new Mimeoplasm should necessarily be a linked ability, that’s dumb.
Should or not it is. They don't really make abilities like that without making them linked.
What if player 3 has a stack interrupt, then would that mean that nothing triggers when he boardwipes?
What do you mean by a stack interrupt?
I love your content so much these are the magic questions I think about a lot
did you hear about quanten mechanics? It isnt so hard
Off topic but how does ashaya and field of the dead work. Would your other creatures count as different named lands cause each creature has its own name or doesn't it not work that way just wondering
Use to play a Happily Ever After deck on Arena that wins pretty well on Explorer. Not mono white tho. Sphinx of the Guildpact and Planewide Celebration make it ftw
I wish Planewide Celebration was mono white
Man this comment section is a mess 😅😂
Mechtitan Core maybe? It might be a little clunky and one time use but can make you a 5 color token for Happily Ever After
I've thought about it, but it's a bit tough to meet that requirement
I have a version of this deck that uses Mechtitan. It's pretty solid when I draw it.
Well... there goes the 'The Enigma Jewel' / 'Karn Liberated' combo to return all cards used to to Craft 'Locus of Enlightenment'. Also.... kills the idea that you can always read a card the references itself by name as 'this card', as sometimes it needs to be read as 'that specific ability right there'.
You should really consider these 2: - Scrapbasket - Mechtitan Core
Scrapbasket doesnt work since Happily Ever After needs the condition met at the beginning of upkeep which I wouldn't be able to activate Scrapbasket by then. Mechtitan Core I've considered, it's a bit tough since the deck currently doesn't have many artifact creature or vehicles
@keepingitcasualmtg I'm not trying to say I know rules better than you do, 'cause you are something else, but I think when Happily Ever After's ability triggers, you just activate Scrapbasket's ability and by the time Happily's ability resolved, Scrapbasket would already be 5 colors. No?
@@enricobrasilHappily Ever After has an intervening if clause. It won't trigger at the upkeep at all unless you already have all 5 colors, and there's no point to activate it at the start of your turn before you miss the trigger
Genius!!!
Question, how did you cast rescuer chwinga 8 times? Did you have another bounce etb too? Just making sure cause he says "another" permanent
I cheated thats why 😆😆 I didn't realize it said "another"
@@keepingitcasualmtg oh HAHA
Try Sphinx Of The Guildpact. It's a 7-drop artifact creature that counts as all colors for 7 colorless Mana. You can also run Scuttlemutt to change the color of a creature you control. From there, there are two ways to go about doing this. The Mana intensive method is to use Staff Of Domination to untap Scuttlemutt to use his ability again. You can also use cards like Lithoform Engine to copy triggered or activated abilities. The more jank method is to run either Prototype Portal or Soul Foundry and imprint Scuttlemutt onto one of them to create enough Scuttlemutts for your win condition you want. Scuttlemutt can also tap for Mana, so it is a decent Mana dork for your deck.
Sphinx of the Guildpact isn't legal in the deck. It's got a character defining ability that makes it not legal outside of 5 color decks. Scuttlemutt also doesn't work since Happily Ever After's condition needs to be met BEFORE the time of triggering. I wouldn't have the opportunity to activate it before the trigger.
@keepingitcasualmtg Actually, you could run Sphinx Of The Guildpact since there are no Mana symbols on to denote it being all colors, just a worded text. It would be like running a fetch land that could fetch either a Mountain or Plains card in a deck that only runs one or the other. Nor is there a symbol in the type box that denotes this creature as all colors. Just a line of text that says this creature is all colors. Based on the logic of running a card like Misty Rainforest in a deck that runs either blue or green, but not the other, you should be able to run Sphinx Of The Guildpact in a mono color deck.
You can't include Sphinx of the Guildpact for the same reason you can't include Westvale Abbey. Color indicators and characteristic-defining abilities work at all times, in all zones (including deck construction). Also, one scuttlemutt can get you all five colors. It doesn't have to change something to be monocolored. The problem is just that you can't use scuttlemutt before Happily Ever After resolves because it won't trigger at all if you don't already have all 5
How do you make red creatures?
Lost Mines of Phandelver makes 1/1 red goblins, theres a few things that make 1/1 mercenaries, and "for mirrodin" cards
As a Ygo player the "stack" is something thats both a blessing and a curse and while Ygo doesnt have official multi man formats, the way this is explained makes sense. Since p2 is near the end of the rotation order given current turn, the ywould have the biggest advantage unless p1 had something to counter all of p2's triggers While minute differences exist, the main take aways are In ygo, you build a stack/chain, once it starts resolving, Very few things stop it until A: a win condition is met. B: it finishes resolving
Feels kinda silly that it's second effect doesn't work with abilities it copies... As "it" still exiled them... You wanna make the linked property argument, but there is nothing different between it exiling things on ETB or another way, so other methods should also be "linked"
Abilities are on linked if they were printed on the same piece of cardboard, so ones it gains from cloaning or ability granting effects won't be linked to ones from other sources. 406.6: An object may have one ability printed on it that causes one or more cards to be exiled, and another ability that refers either to "the exiled cards" or to cards "exiled with [this object]." These abilities are linked: the second refers only to cards that have been exiled due to the first. See rule 607, "Linked Abilities." 607.1: An object may have two abilities printed on it such that one of them causes actions to be taken or objects or players to be affected and the other one directly refers to those actions, objects, or players. If so, these two abilities are linked: the second refers only to actions that were taken or objects or players that were affected by the first, and not by any other ability.
@seandun7083 then i guess we can't give graphed exoskeleton for Effects anymore As thats an "Action" that "effects an object/player" and "another" effect that refers to that "Action/object/player" This reads worse then the "2nd main phase" stuff they tried to pull. Except not only is it grammatically incorrect, it actively conflicts with how other interactions would work.
@@Lightmagician60 wait, what do you mean? "Whenever Grafted Exoskeleton becomes unattached from a permanent, sacrifice that permanent" is all one ability. It doesn't have any linked abilities. An example of a card 607.1 applies to would be Pithing Needle. If you Sorcerous Spyglass naming Prodigal Sorcerer and then True Polymorph it into a Pithing Needle, the new needle won't see the name picked by the old spyglass.
@seandun7083 infect....
It doesn't care about "the creature you targeted with it's equip ability" it just cares about the creature it's currently equipped to.
I run this strategy with Bennie Bracks in the command zone for a bunch of card draw. Since we're trying to make a bunch of tokens anyways, you don't have to try so hard to include the Chwinga and lion packages necessarily!
Bennie Bracks sounds like an interesting option 🤔 There are some advantages of Oketra allowing me to remove most of the clunky "black" options and the issue I had with Nadaar was that the deck was not great at defending itself with these junky little off white tokens. The 4/4 bodies are pretty formidable and add to being able to defend myself, which also helps me to keep a high life total. I'd be interested in seeing a list with Bennie though
Bennie sounds really smart. The deck does nothing but make tokens for days, and getting enough cards to find your colors and win con is a big deal
You can run sarpadian empires vol 7 to cover any color you need
Haha I considered this, but felt that it's a bit too slow
Helm of the host
I use perch protection in my arabella deck, the tokens it creates are useful, and it is a nice budget to teferi's protection if you are willing to gift an extra turn to someone
The hope is I can make the blue tokens and teferi's protection out keeping happily ever after and the board protected, and then win on my upkeep.
I found it easier to get blue tokens in white than the other colors
Awsome explanation
Why not end your turn to stop it?
There is that one artifact creature that is all colors
Won't work bc it's all colors, in addition mono color deck
Two, actually, but color identity rules restrict them to 5c decks.
I've had a strong God-Eternal Oketra deck for years and my advice is this: think of the 4/4s as being a little bit of card advantage tacked onto every creature. A 4/4 vigilance is big enough value that it's worth running 45+ creatures. Also, OG Odric is the best card in the deck (including typical bombs like Akroma's Memorial and OG Elesh Norn) because Oketra gives your creatures double strike and vigilance by herself. Throw in a random flyer and bam, gg. That said if you want to prioritize Happily Ever After over the backup win cons that's totally fair 😂
Yeah the contention I've had with this deck is that it's quite good at winning as a token deck, but it feels weird to make the deck "worse" just to win with Happily Ever After. I do want to prioritize Happily Ever After though. That said I've considered True Conviction for the deck since it gains me a ton of life
@@keepingitcasualmtgThe "I wish my deck was worse so HEA was more viable" is real. That's the main reason I was so on board with my version of the deck, because the tiny baby tokens made by my big pile of noncreatures are significant enough to make attacking me unprofitable, but probably not good enough to directly win the game. I still think Sram with an emphasis on off-color equipment and vehicles might be optimal if you wanna get there with HEA, since that digs for it the best and doesn't over-support the board, but I still like Adrian as a board reset and general protection.
God Eternal Oketra is my favorite deck! ❤ Mine also plays Whitemane Lion type cards (all of them), and then all of the Spirited Companion type cards. I even won a tournament a week ago with the €50 budget version of the deck! ❤
hmmm this guy looks familiar... like i've seen him somewhere...
I love your videos. Really just amazing visuals, just the right amount of humor, and concise.
thank you I appreciate that
Assuming the controller also doesn't want a draw, could the creature get unequipped? How does the timing work out there?
Equipping is sorcery speed so only if they do so before they get the 7th Thrull. Of course if anyone has a kill spell they can use that to stop it.
Before attack: All monsters can attack. After attack: No untapped monster can attack It's not rocket science
Idk, that still seems like a good trade to me, you save 6 life and dome your opponent for 2 at the cost of two low value tokens.
Definitely find space for Master of Ceremonies! The sheer amount of advantage I get from that in my Breena deck is insane
I need to find one is the issue!