Combat Commander: Europe - Introduction for New Players - Part 2
Вставка
- Опубліковано 23 січ 2025
- My virtual tip jar: ko-fi.com/patr...
In response to requests for assisting new players, we recorded a tutorial session for helping you learn the basics of the amazing Combat Commander game series by Chad Jensen.
For anyone who has ever been interested in learning, this video is a good starting point. Part II features interactive, moderated game play between Lee and Roger, where we will discuss rules as they come up in the context of playing Scenario #1, Fat Lipki.
We encourage you to offer feedback and suggestions for new players in the comments section below!
Also consider this an open invitation for you to come join our Combat Commander Ladder Tournament! Players are paired up monthly and attempt to ascend to the top rung of the ladder. You are assigned one of the hundreds of Combat Commander scenarios to complete against their opponent within the month. You will not find a friendlier group of players of all skill levels, eager to make your acquaintance and to challenge your skills.
For more information about the Combat Commander Ladder:
www.boardgameg...
Vassal Combat Commander Resources:
www.vassalengin...
Rulebook:
s3-us-west-2.a...
#gmtgames #combatcommander
Check out Kai Jensen's Combat Commander merchandise:
www.etsy.com/s...
1:04:36: The despair in Roger's voice ("If I was playing poker this would be a great hand") is just awesome ☺️
This is great learning material, including the detailed comments and clarifications. Since there is a ladder already would be interesting to see a recording of two top-ranking players going at it on a challenging scenario 🙂
You got it!
Watched the first hour and loving it. It’s a great help to anyone learning the game. Two things to clarify, both when Krylov starts to move south. Maybe around 30 minutes...
Squads and teams only get the leader bonus to movement (and other stats) when actually stacked with a leader. It is calculated in each hex. Not added at start of move order or any other thing. A unit’s move stat can be quite fluid in a single move order if it moves in and out of hexes with leaders in. If the unit and leader move together then it gains the leader bonus for the whole move, again calculated in each hex.
Although it didn’t happen, I think it was implied that if a unit moves into a hex with another unit(s) only the moving unit may suffer op fire. In fact any op fire affects all units in the target hex.
Thanks for the great video.
Thanks for the great feedback!
1:10:43 Something to add to they rout yourself question. The player himself is activated for the Rout and Recover order. So you can only play one of those you yourself each turn, as it activates you as the players.
Also you are not allowed to play any of these cards if there isent a unit that effectivly get to use it. (No burn cards for nothing) This is true for move and fire aswell Atleast one units need to perform the Order/action.
37:25 When Krylov rolled the snake eyes for defense roll and broke, couldn't he have used the Initiative card to re-roll? Would have been a perfect time for it. Great video, by the way.
Almost certainly!
1:19:53 Its not a rule but, its common that you always roll defense for the leader last. In case he breaks then all other units lose the command bonus in the hex. So always roll smaller unit first. We play as team roll first then squads then leaders in a hex. then you never get confused who is rolling and there will never be a missunderstanding. Just a tip :)
That's the way I do it, personally.
57:48 The leader command bonus is only for the units in the hex, and only when they are in that hex. SO if you move pass a leader and get shot you get the bonus command to your morale. But as soon as you leave the hex you dont have any more bonus.
Good clarification, thanks.
41:44 All units must roll defense if they are in a hex that gets a fire to it. So even if the Leader in O3 wouldent have been activated for a move, he would still have ro roll dedense since another unit moved into his hex and got a OPFire against them.
Yep, that is correct! I erred when explaining that to Roger. (Pg 13, O20.3.4, Fire Defense Roll)
1:35:06 You dont have to activate the leader in this particular case as only one squad is going to OPFire.
40:45 Fence never block LOS, it gives hinderence.
Yes, that is amended to hindrance a little farther along. (Pg 21, T84 Fence, +1 Hindrance)
It blocks LOS down a hex spine
@@fentumersewype5747 No, it doesent, in that case it would caus hinderence. If it were a wall or a hedge it would block.
@@viktorkm fantastic. I have learned something new! Ta
38:35 When you say they can continue without the leader, that is wrong. If a group of counters start in the same hex and choose to move togheter, they need to end up in the same hex. So if one unit breaks all other counters with them need to stop.
This mean that sometimes you want to move individual units so they wont get bogged down by a lesser morale unit. But that also mean the opponent get to fire even more. As you get to fire each time an enemy spend movementpoints to enter a hex.
Great correction, thanks Viktor! (Pg 14, Rule O21.2 (Moving Together, with gray comment box.))
1:34:47 The rifle squad have range thanks to Command bonus.
Looking forward to viewing this one.
I enjoyed the C&C: Ancients videos so much, I watched this so I could understand the CC videos. Unfortunately, CC: Europe is Out of Stock, so I had to buy CC: Pacific. If that is being played on the ladder, I may join in. Looking forward for more.
It certainly is!
Watched it all and loved it. Well done Patrick and both players.
One thing as positive criticism for the next one. The firing sequence around 1:45 has a lot of things wrong. It’s worthwhile verbally articulating each step for clarity. I do that with my mate on TTS and, even though we play a lot, we still make errors that the other catches.
E.g. squad for 5 plus leader for 7 plus LMG for 8 then fence hindrance 1 for 7 total. Then hesitate and acknowledge.
Last thing is that the Russians don’t need to follow the road to exit. They can go directly south rather than southwest then exit.
Yes, I am a little more regimented in my Fire Commands than when helping here. There was a small amount of cat wrangling from excitement.
Thanks again for your supportive feedback! I hope you'll check out some of the other videos while you're here.
53:58: I have a question for the calculation of the firepower as von Karsties fires with his group:
5: the basic firepower from the Rifle Squad
+ 2: the command modifier from von Karsties
+ 1: the modifier from the light machine gun as an additional fire participant
Why did Lee substract 1 at this moment to a total of 7?
I believe one of his targets was hindered by the crop field, which would reduce FP by 1.
@@PatricksTacticsTutorials Such an easy solution ... 🙄 Thanks and sorry.
52:50 is it allowed to form a fire group with the leader for spray fire, when the leader doesnt have his range boxed?
Correct, not part of the spray fire group, but his Command would still be added.
Might join your CC ladder next month
Great to hear that! Welcome!!
can you get radios in any scenario with an asset card? Or only when the scenario lists radios?
Only if you start with a readio in the Scenario design, OR by getting a Reinforcement Event with a die roll column that provides a radio.
why have an initiative card when you dont use it when you roll a 2 on krilov and that is the only roll that would break him?
I think maybe his personal morale check was failing at that point in the learning game.
When will you be doing a tutorial on GOSS😉