Great video Paul, can you please throw some light on for how many days should we keep these campaigns running before we start filtering out keywords as shown in the video?
Paul, this was awesome and very helpful. Thank you, thank you! This is my first Q4 and while I don't have wild expectations, I am going to be optimistic without going broke on advertising. Now I have more checkpoints. Again, greatly appreciate the incredibly helpful tips! 👍😊
@@paulmarles of course! I'll be here :) BTW this might be a silly question.. but are you part of the KDP community? The one that is actually on the kdp platform or whatever.. it's kind of a rhetorical question ( promise not a stalker lol) but seriously.. I mention it because I didn't realize it was there until recently and it has like a Q&A blog type of set up. I have a FB Authors group so I put the name of it at the end of my Lil bio and then just pop in and answer questions and try to be helpful .. but anyways There are tons of questions that you def know the answer to. I was thinking if your not already on there, it's a great way for you to get visibility by a very large concentration of your exact audience.. just a idea :)
@@paulmarles actually when I first started an auto campaign I've checked the targeting section, saw that there's not much to do there and just thought to myself - well, that's why it's called 'auto' :)
Another great video Paul, very well explained. could we have a video about finding categories for our books, I think this is one of the hardest things especially for notebooks.
I’ve done a couple of videos - one is on categories and is in my book tutorial playlist. I also did one last week on how to get a best sellers badge. That explains categories as well.
Beacuse i have a low budget my strategy is : Automatic ad 5 $ a day with a bid of 0.20 if it spends 1$ with no sale a kill it but if it gets a sale a let it spend another dollar in the same time a take the search term that made a sale and i run a manuel with the same criteria of the automatic ad. Whats your opinion Captain?
I tried the $1 idea at the start. Didn’t think it was a good idea because if the cpc turns out to be 0.20 then that keyword would have to convert at 20% which is very tough and you’re only using a statistically small sample number. So you might be excluding potentially good keywords. That’s why I look at a sale per 10 clicks as a cut off because a 10% conversion is a good industry standard and it seems to work for me. Keywords that go into my manual ads have to have high impression numbers and acceptable conversion. I’d rather have a few good converting keywords bringing in lots of sales that I can spend more on ads with than lots of small impression keywords. A keyword that gives you one sale doesn’t really tell you much. If you get lots of sales from small impression numbers that’s different and worth taking note of but one sale doesn’t mean a lot so I don’t rush to put it in manual ads.
Paul! Your videos have been extremely helpful! Thank you for being so transparent with us. I have a question regarding the Amazon ads. I know you stated that you keep your bid at $0.20. I am wondering if this value affects whether or not your ad will show? (meaning if you don't outbid someone else then it won't show?)
Paul, good stuff mate. It took me a bit to realize you are talking about 'automatic' ads. You are one of the few people I've seen who use them. Can you, or have you done a similar version for manually targeted ads. I truly appreciate laying down the barriers of x clicks etc. How do you translate this in manual ads. Also, two factors I find important. Overall say a campaign is at 34% ACOS and say 10 orders, but I am generating 34 orders, I would consider that a 'success' since 'some' of my sales are coming from the campaign, but likely indirectly its generating more sales. Second, Amazon figures ad campaign sales of 'Retail'. So if your KDP print book is $10, your profit starts at $6. Subtract the cost of the book, say $3, now you've got $3 left over to work with. IF, your ACOS of 34% is based off the Retail, that's $3.40 and now you're flipped over entirely. Help Authors with the math....
Not sure how you’ve arrived at those figures. And I talk about the ACOS and manual ads in some of the other videos in the ads playlist and covered the maths - basically, at 6.99, the common price for low content books, profit is around 1.90 and a break even ACOS is about 28%. Also covered the issue of ads resulting in increased organic sales as well. That’s my main aim for running ads.
Very interesting video. Could you make a video of how to do a manual campaign, with the data obtained from your automatic campaign? Which is what they generally recommend doing. Thank you
This is very helpful, but I have a really stupid question. How did you get to the page that lists all the activity? I'm still trying to figure out how to navigate this site
@@paulmarles Once you click on search terms, do you select "greater than," "equal", etc. and then it prompts for a number. What number do you enter, and what does this mean exactly? This is all new to me. Thanks in advance!
Hey Paul, great videos, great content... please make more videos on "HOW TO" analyse ad campaign results in order to improve the process. Many Thanks. Cheers Captain!
Explain numbers per clicks. If I have a single book and the minimum budget is $100 should the price per click be low or high? What is the tried and true number, 10 cents or 25 cents per click?
I usually start at 20 cents. The amount you spend per click hasn’t got much to do with budget but more the type of book and market you’re entering. For example, if it’s an adult coloring book you’d probably have little chance with 20 cent clicks and a 100 dollar budget.
Simple but important question Paul. How do I pause an ad that I've started? I honestly don't know how and it would be a great help. Seriously. Thanks in advance.
@@paulmarles Thanks Paul. I feel so stupid. I just found your stuff and, having just decided to dip a toe into Amazon ads, I subscribed immediately. Great advice. Thanks again
Hello Paul, do u advise to run adds on 3 month old published book with few reviews and no sales or should i publish a brand new book and run ads on it once i receive some reviews ? Thank you so much for ur advise and this video was helpful 😊
If I wanted to stop targeting a keyword in a manual ad I would justpause the keyword. I only use negative keywords in the auto ads as you have no option to pause the keywords there.
Great Video Paul. Thanks. When a term gets clicks and not sales, is it a good idea to include it in the description of the book or in the seven keywords box? Other idea. I start to think that the best thing is to do automatic campaigns and optimize them as you indicate, because the search terms change continuously and it is random. What do you think? Thank you
Hello!!One question:If i run ADS on ebook and a client click on ADS but switch on paperback and buy this paperback,the sell was indicate in the ADS campaign or not?
great video Paul! I have experience with campaigns, you think is better to start with manual or always better start with auto, get the best keywords on search terms and then pass to manual?
hi paul... i tried with 5 dollar budget ant 0.20 cents bid but didnt get any impressions for 4 days hence increased the budget to 20 dollar and bid 10 cents more than suggested bid..the result i got in 5 hrs was 1895 impressions /15 clicks/0.79 ctr and no sales so i stopped the ad.. did i do the right thing?
Great Video!!!! WOW very informative! When you say 32% ACOS it is calculated with 0.20$ right? Can we bid less and target a higher ACOS? What is the minimum Bid you do for book under 6.99$
@@paulmarles Yes thank you. BUt the Bid price you use is it ever below 0.20$? I am thinking of using a lower BID price and than I can have a larger ACOS
0.20 is the lowest I go. Yes you can go lower and yes it may lower your acos but only because you are getting no clicks or sales because your ads aren’t appearing. No clicks and no sales would give you an acos of 0%.
Thanks Paul! Super helpful, how long should you run the ad to get a good sample size and begin optimizing? Some of my ACOS are pretty high but I’ve only been running ads for a week or so.
It’s not length of time, it’s impression numbers you want to look at. 1000 is a good number to assess a keyword unless it really is costing you a lot of money. That’s why you should keep bid price low at the start.
Hi Paul, I launched 3 Ad Campaigns (Auto, Manual & ASIN) for UK market. I set GBP 0.19 as the bid amount. I waited for few days, I didn't get any impressions or clicks. So I increased the bid to GBP 0.22. It is ok to do so? In general how much can we consider as a good bidding amount for UK market? Thank you.
Yes, that would be ok to do. Bid amount varies between different types of books and would vary widely in any country. For example there would be a big difference in bid price between say a coloring book and an accounting ledger.
Excellent one Paul .. Thx. It happened to be exactly on subject to what we were working on this week! Q: How long do you run in Auto ususally? Do you then switch to Manual or do you run both concurrently at times?
@@paulmarles excellent .. spent the evening implementing your approach. Been at it for about 5 wks, with apox 100 plus books up right now. Our advtersing to date has cost us 72% of our total revenue. And the ACOS is about 33%. 120 sales from adv and 94 organic. It felt like this was off balance, but being new at it, don't really know how to evaluate it. (I assume from watching this video you agree?) Your approach is a most welcome guideline/ruler so thanks again. BP
AMAZING VIDEO!! thank you a lot! super clear and really informative and very very helpful. Only one question, do you normally let the auto campaign run for 2 months in order to gather enough data independently from its ACOS or you start to optimize the Ads as soon as the ACOS becomes too high? thanks again! PS: I bought the pen Tablet from the giveaway and it is helping me out a lot! I'm also gonna read "Your Money or Your Life" as soon as I will finish the book I am currently reading.
I don’t have a specific time I let an ad run for. I look more at the impressions. I read somewhere that 1000 impressions is a good number at which to assess a keyword and that seems to work well. However, if a keyword is running away with ad spend and fewer impressions I will remove the keyword.
Hi Boss, I have a question, last week found one of my books had this wired BSR 23,375,495, but still can't see any sales in KDP report, and the BSR is going done, does it means made sales? , thx for your help
Yes, it means you made a sale. It appears in your sales dashboard after the book has been sent out or up to a month later if it was sold via expanded distribution. The question is - why are you worrying about it? Concentrate on creating.
known to KDP, and I'm trying to understand how BSR works, then I saw BSR 23 million thaught maybe something wrong. anyway thank u boss, and as You said I'm concentrating on creating since I had my first sale, and always waiting for ur videos to learn more and make more sales
Hi, Paul ! I know this is not the right subject... it has nothing to do with ads ;-) But it's the most recent, so... It's just an idea for a future video : The difference in results between your regular google and the private navigation... Is it significant or not? And if yes, in what sense? Thanks !
@@paulmarles I mean the difference between the “normal” navigation and the “private” navigation. If I open the Amazon website in a private navigation window, shall I get different results than if I go ahead and open it in my regular Google browser, the one with all the cookies. I was just wondering, maybe it makes no difference at all... but if it made any, that would be interesting to know which one. Just my musings of yesterday ;-)
@@paulmarles OK, thank you. I've always been said that Google, Amazon and others show you search results based on your browsing history (In Amazon, you have a whole line of "items you should like" based on your navigation history). I just wondered what would happen if you do your research without letting Amazon take you browsing history into consideration. But of course, you should unlog from Amazon to do your research, then, otherwise they would pick up right away from your account ;-) Just musings... :-) Thanks a lot for answering !
Really helpful video - thank you! Are you finding that news books you've uploaded in the past couple of months are still selling and ranking organically or do you think that as the number of KDP sellers continues to increase it's becoming necessary to run ads more or less from the start in order to gain traction?
Paul, I've been trying to fill out the 'billing and payment' section which is required before running an ad campaign. I'm new to KDP and haven't filled in any of the financials needed before advertising. I've run into a snag - it won't allow me to click on the 'I accept and acknowledge all the terms and conditions of the VAT agreement' without filling in the VAT registration number. Do I have to be VAT registered first? Do you have a video that addresses this? Thanks!
28%, that's oddly specific. At $6.99, you receive 70% royalty from your book. (Kindle correct?) Then your breakeven ACOS should be 70% right? Also, does Amazon figure Kindle Unlimited downloads/pagereads into the ACOS number?
I did ads on my book but I dont know how to login the dashboard to check it ,do I have to register on Amazon advertising site or something else I'm really confused, please let me know what should I do
I'm running an automatic campaign for my one coloring book. I don't understand why I have high impressions but no clicks or sales? Am I doing something wrong?
Thank you Sir! These Instructions pick me up exactly, where i need to be picked up
Great video Paul, can you please throw some light on for how many days should we keep these campaigns running before we start filtering out keywords as shown in the video?
Best explanation of an ad strategy I've seen so far.
Thank you 🙏
This video was EXACTLY what I was looking for thank you
You’re welcome, glad you enjoyed it.
Paul, this was awesome and very helpful. Thank you, thank you! This is my first Q4 and while I don't have wild expectations, I am going to be optimistic without going broke on advertising. Now I have more checkpoints. Again, greatly appreciate the incredibly helpful tips! 👍😊
You’re welcome. Thank you for watching. 😊
Clearest explanation I've come across. Will apply your three figures and see how it goes. Many thanks for such a helpful video.
You're welcome. Glad you found it useful.
This is extremely helpful. Thank you!
You're welcome. Glad you found it helpful.
You are the BEST! Thank you Paul sending you love and light! 🤗💫❣
Thank you 😊
You are just awesome. I just did my 1st campaign.. Following you for tips and tricks🙏🙏🙏
That's great. Glad you found it useful.
Thank you for this Paul. Very useful info.
You're welcome. 👍
when you search, can push on impressions and they will group in high to low
Thank you, Paul. love you Man! Your Chanel include every detail of KDP
You’re welcome 👍
Best Strategy thanks Paul
You’re welcome.
Very helpful info. I am trying this now!
Thank you 🙏
Brilliant video, thanks Paul.
You're welcome. Thank you for watching.
PS. 101,000 subscribers!? Dang! That's awesome. I've been following you for a little over a year now and that's really cool! 🎉
Thank you. And thank you for staying with the channel. Much appreciated.
@@paulmarles of course! I'll be here :) BTW this might be a silly question.. but are you part of the KDP community? The one that is actually on the kdp platform or whatever.. it's kind of a rhetorical question ( promise not a stalker lol) but seriously.. I mention it because I didn't realize it was there until recently and it has like a Q&A blog type of set up. I have a FB Authors group so I put the name of it at the end of my Lil bio and then just pop in and answer questions and try to be helpful .. but anyways There are tons of questions that you def know the answer to. I was thinking if your not already on there, it's a great way for you to get visibility by a very large concentration of your exact audience.. just a idea :)
Very helpful and well explained as usual, thanks Paul! 👍
Thank you 🙏
Super video, this may be my favorite! It helps so much to see your thought process as you scroll through the data. Many thanks 🌝
You’re welcome Sharon. Thank you for watching. 😊
Excellent video and very helpful Paul. Thank you
You’re welcome Ray.
Thank you. Great video!
As always, thanks for the great video!
Un grand merci Paul ! parfait, comme d'habitude 😊
Thank you 🙏
Believe it or not I didn't know how to optimize Auto campaigns :) Thank your for this enlightening video Paul!
You’re welcome Vladimir.
@@paulmarles actually when I first started an auto campaign I've checked the targeting section, saw that there's not much to do there and just thought to myself - well, that's why it's called 'auto' :)
Thanks a lot, It is one of your "Rod of Moses" videos👍😀
You’re welcome 👍
Great video. Your videos are so helpful and to the point. They are great for people like me who have a short attention span. Thank you so much.
You're welcome. Glad you find them helpful.
is it not enough to stop keywords instead of going to insert them in a negative list?
Negative lists of keywords are for auto ads where you can’t remove or stop the keywords.
@@paulmarles oh ok, but do you recommend doing auto campaigns? I am now just using the test manual ones
I do both.
@@paulmarles and categories campaign?
Hi where is this screen please? I’m in ads but mine doesn’t look like yours! Thanks 😊
It's the campaigns main window.
Thank you for a very helpful video
You’re welcome.
Another great video Paul, very well explained. could we have a video about finding categories for our books, I think this is one of the hardest things especially for notebooks.
I’ve done a couple of videos - one is on categories and is in my book tutorial playlist. I also did one last week on how to get a best sellers badge. That explains categories as well.
A valuable video, thank you !🙏
You're welcome. 🙂
Great video! Thanks so much. I have a question, can this optimization be used for manual campaings as well? Thanks a lot
Thanks for a great video
You’re welcome 👍
Beacuse i have a low budget my strategy is :
Automatic ad 5 $ a day with a bid of 0.20 if it spends 1$ with no sale a kill it but if it gets a sale a let it spend another dollar in the same time a take the search term that made a sale and i run a manuel with the same criteria of the automatic ad.
Whats your opinion Captain?
I tried the $1 idea at the start. Didn’t think it was a good idea because if the cpc turns out to be 0.20 then that keyword would have to convert at 20% which is very tough and you’re only using a statistically small sample number. So you might be excluding potentially good keywords. That’s why I look at a sale per 10 clicks as a cut off because a 10% conversion is a good industry standard and it seems to work for me. Keywords that go into my manual ads have to have high impression numbers and acceptable conversion. I’d rather have a few good converting keywords bringing in lots of sales that I can spend more on ads with than lots of small impression keywords. A keyword that gives you one sale doesn’t really tell you much. If you get lots of sales from small impression numbers that’s different and worth taking note of but one sale doesn’t mean a lot so I don’t rush to put it in manual ads.
@@paulmarles yes Captain it make sens but when you have a small budget to play with this will be hard
Paul! Your videos have been extremely helpful! Thank you for being so transparent with us. I have a question regarding the Amazon ads. I know you stated that you keep your bid at $0.20. I am wondering if this value affects whether or not your ad will show? (meaning if you don't outbid someone else then it won't show?)
Hi Paul, what is the frequency we should do this analysis every X month?
Every few days I check my ads and optimize. It will depend on the impression volume and clicks your ads are getting.
Hi Paul am Domion am from Jamaica first your doing some really helpful videos, helps me alot too but my question is running one ad is a good thing?.
If it gets you sales and makes money yes.
Paul, good stuff mate. It took me a bit to realize you are talking about 'automatic' ads. You are one of the few people I've seen who use them. Can you, or have you done a similar version for manually targeted ads. I truly appreciate laying down the barriers of x clicks etc. How do you translate this in manual ads. Also, two factors I find important. Overall say a campaign is at 34% ACOS and say 10 orders, but I am generating 34 orders, I would consider that a 'success' since 'some' of my sales are coming from the campaign, but likely indirectly its generating more sales. Second, Amazon figures ad campaign sales of 'Retail'. So if your KDP print book is $10, your profit starts at $6. Subtract the cost of the book, say $3, now you've got $3 left over to work with. IF, your ACOS of 34% is based off the Retail, that's $3.40 and now you're flipped over entirely. Help Authors with the math....
Not sure how you’ve arrived at those figures. And I talk about the ACOS and manual ads in some of the other videos in the ads playlist and covered the maths - basically, at 6.99, the common price for low content books, profit is around 1.90 and a break even ACOS is about 28%. Also covered the issue of ads resulting in increased organic sales as well. That’s my main aim for running ads.
I don’t understand. The search term option does not show on my screen... 🤔
On the auto ads?
@@paulmarles Yes, but I found it now. Thx a lot that really helps a lot. Ads are so confusing!
Right to the point. Excellent video. However, how long should we let the ad run before performing optimization?
Until you’ve had enough impressions and you get meaningful data.
Thanks!
You're welcome.
Very interesting video. Could you make a video of how to do a manual campaign, with the data obtained from your automatic campaign? Which is what they generally recommend doing. Thank you
I’ll put it on my list. Good suggestion.
Thanks, what's the best way to get reviews beside the call to action pages ?
Create good quality books.
This is very helpful, but I have a really stupid question. How did you get to the page that lists all the activity? I'm still trying to figure out how to navigate this site
I click on search terms.
@@paulmarles Once you click on search terms, do you select "greater than," "equal", etc. and then it prompts for a number. What number do you enter, and what does this mean exactly? This is all new to me. Thanks in advance!
Do you put different books in the same or different ad groups? Thanks
Normally it's different ad groups.
Does this strategy still work for books that are up but wont publish for a few weeks?
Great details. Thx
Thank you Rick.
Hey Paul, great videos, great content... please make more videos on "HOW TO" analyse ad campaign results in order to improve the process. Many Thanks. Cheers Captain!
Thank you 🙏
Explain numbers per clicks. If I have a single book and the minimum budget is $100 should the price per click be low or high? What is the tried and true number, 10 cents or 25 cents per click?
I usually start at 20 cents. The amount you spend per click hasn’t got much to do with budget but more the type of book and market you’re entering. For example, if it’s an adult coloring book you’d probably have little chance with 20 cent clicks and a 100 dollar budget.
Simple but important question Paul. How do I pause an ad that I've started? I honestly don't know how and it would be a great help. Seriously. Thanks in advance.
On the left hand side there is a little button that you toggle on and off.
@@paulmarles Thanks Paul. I feel so stupid. I just found your stuff and, having just decided to dip a toe into Amazon ads, I subscribed immediately. Great advice. Thanks again
You’re welcome.
Thank for bringing this up, a question if I may, If I mentioned a book's name as a keyword in a manual ad, am i violating Amazon policy ??
If you mean someone else’s book then yes I think you are.
I was wondering if you know if I can change my ad targeting from manual once my ad is already set up? Thank you for your very informative video's.
No, you have to set up a new campaign.
@@paulmarles ok. Thanks so much
Hello Paul, do u advise to run adds on 3 month old published book with few reviews and no sales or should i publish a brand new book and run ads on it once i receive some reviews ? Thank you so much for ur advise and this video was helpful 😊
Hi. I wonder how many sales will you wait until you choose the books to run ads?
witch is the difference between add negative word/ASIN and simply archive the word/asin?
Great video, still waiting for my first couple of sales. It's only been a few months and hopefully someone will buy something.
Best of luck!
Hey Paul, I don’t understand. How many keywords you put on Amazon Ads? 1000 keywords and you run the Ads? Or less than 1000? Thank you
Way less than a 1000. I tend to just use a few that I'm already targeting in the title and subtitle.
@@paulmarles okay, did you create a video where you talk about this? Let me know, thank you Paul 💪🏼
This is the video that l'm looking for
Thank you for the information 👍🙂🙂 wa yeeh
You’re welcome 👍
when you're adding the ASIN or keywords to the negative keywords, do you pause the keywords/ASIN in the ads or do you reduce the bids?
If I wanted to stop targeting a keyword in a manual ad I would justpause the keyword. I only use negative keywords in the auto ads as you have no option to pause the keywords there.
Great Video Paul. Thanks. When a term gets clicks and not sales, is it a good idea to include it in the description of the book or in the seven keywords box? Other idea. I start to think that the best thing is to do automatic campaigns and optimize them as you indicate, because the search terms change continuously and it is random. What do you think? Thank you
I’d a term is getting clicks then not sales then I normally want to ask myself why.
@@paulmarles thanks. How much time do you wait when you change something to increase sales? Thanks
Hello!!One question:If i run ADS on ebook and a client click on ADS but switch on paperback and buy this paperback,the sell was indicate in the ADS campaign or not?
No, I don’t think so.
Hi Captain if you don't mind how much did you spend on this campaign to get all this data?
On that particular campaign about $100
great video Paul! I have experience with campaigns, you think is better to start with manual or always better start with auto, get the best keywords on search terms and then pass to manual?
I always start with auto. Sometimes I will do a manual exact at the same time with just one or two main keywords.
@@paulmarles thanks! After how many days you usually change the auto campaign in manual extracting the best keywords from search terms?
Hi Paul, very interesting video. Do you prefer manual or automatic targeting? Thanks
I don’t have a preference. I usually start with auto and then move to manual when I have some more data from the auto ads.
hi paul... i tried with 5 dollar budget ant 0.20 cents bid but didnt get any impressions for 4 days hence increased the budget to 20 dollar and bid 10 cents more than suggested bid..the result i got in 5 hrs was 1895 impressions /15 clicks/0.79 ctr and no sales so i stopped the ad.. did i do the right thing?
You wont get any useful information over such a short time period. Increase by 5 cents, so try 25 cents but keep your budget at 5 dollars.
Hey Paul, struggling to get Amazon to spend my daily budgets..
Hello Paul how can I remove bad reviews put it by an competitors thank so much for your time bro 😍 😍 😍
You can’t.
@@paulmarles that's make a problem with amazon bad reviews or not
Great Video!!!! WOW very informative! When you say 32% ACOS it is calculated with 0.20$ right? Can we bid less and target a higher ACOS? What is the minimum Bid you do for book under 6.99$
ACOS is with any bid price. It is the total spend divided by total revenue.
@@paulmarles Yes thank you. BUt the Bid price you use is it ever below 0.20$? I am thinking of using a lower BID price and than I can have a larger ACOS
0.20 is the lowest I go. Yes you can go lower and yes it may lower your acos but only because you are getting no clicks or sales because your ads aren’t appearing. No clicks and no sales would give you an acos of 0%.
@@paulmarles Thank you, Mister! You think under 0.2$ it will be hard for the ads to show?
Depends on the niche. For unpopular niches it may well be fine. Amazon ads is about experimenting but controlling your spend.
Thanks Paul for sharing. Do you adjust your book keywords according to the number of impressions you got in your ads campaign?
No, but that is certainly something to consider.
Thanks Paul! Super helpful, how long should you run the ad to get a good sample size and begin optimizing? Some of my ACOS are pretty high but I’ve only been running ads for a week or so.
It’s not length of time, it’s impression numbers you want to look at. 1000 is a good number to assess a keyword unless it really is costing you a lot of money. That’s why you should keep bid price low at the start.
@@paulmarles Great, thanks for the reply!
Hi Paul,
I launched 3 Ad Campaigns (Auto, Manual & ASIN) for UK market. I set GBP 0.19 as the bid amount. I waited for few days, I didn't get any impressions or clicks. So I increased the bid to GBP 0.22.
It is ok to do so?
In general how much can we consider as a good bidding amount for UK market?
Thank you.
Yes, that would be ok to do. Bid amount varies between different types of books and would vary widely in any country. For example there would be a big difference in bid price between say a coloring book and an accounting ledger.
@@paulmarles Thank you very much :)
Where do I find the keywords?
Excellent one Paul .. Thx. It happened to be exactly on subject to what we were working on this week! Q: How long do you run in Auto ususally? Do you then switch to Manual or do you run both concurrently at times?
Often run both concurrently. As mentioned in the video I run them until either they rank highly and stay ranked or the ranking drops off.
@@paulmarles generally, do you see your manual tend to beat auto, or the opposite?
@@paulmarles excellent .. spent the evening implementing your approach. Been at it for about 5 wks, with apox 100 plus books up right now. Our advtersing to date has cost us 72% of our total revenue. And the ACOS is about 33%. 120 sales from adv and 94 organic. It felt like this was off balance, but being new at it, don't really know how to evaluate it. (I assume from watching this video you agree?) Your approach is a most welcome guideline/ruler so thanks again. BP
AMAZING VIDEO!! thank you a lot! super clear and really informative and very very helpful. Only one question, do you normally let the auto campaign run for 2 months in order to gather enough data independently from its ACOS or you start to optimize the Ads as soon as the ACOS becomes too high? thanks again!
PS: I bought the pen Tablet from the giveaway and it is helping me out a lot! I'm also gonna read "Your Money or Your Life" as soon as I will finish the book I am currently reading.
I don’t have a specific time I let an ad run for. I look more at the impressions. I read somewhere that 1000 impressions is a good number at which to assess a keyword and that seems to work well. However, if a keyword is running away with ad spend and fewer impressions I will remove the keyword.
@@paulmarles Thanks :)
Hi! Can i use this strategy by manual campain to? Greetings from good old germany :-).
Yes.
Hi Boss, I have a question, last week found one of my books had this wired BSR 23,375,495, but still can't see any sales in KDP report, and the BSR is going done, does it means made sales? , thx for your help
Lmao 23 million? Your book probably makes a sale once in a decade.
@@rejuvenatingsoul3498 yes so wired, but I upload it 2 weeks ago
Yes, it means you made a sale. It appears in your sales dashboard after the book has been sent out or up to a month later if it was sold via expanded distribution. The question is - why are you worrying about it? Concentrate on creating.
@@paulmarles what's the question Captain?
known to KDP, and I'm trying to understand how BSR works, then I saw BSR 23 million thaught maybe something wrong. anyway thank u boss, and as You said I'm concentrating on creating since I had my first sale, and always waiting for ur videos to learn more and make more sales
Hi, Paul !
I know this is not the right subject... it has nothing to do with ads ;-) But it's the most recent, so...
It's just an idea for a future video : The difference in results between your regular google and the private navigation... Is it significant or not? And if yes, in what sense?
Thanks !
Can you clarify what you mean between regular Google and private navigation?
@@paulmarles I mean the difference between the “normal” navigation and the “private” navigation. If I open the Amazon website in a private navigation window, shall I get different results than if I go ahead and open it in my regular Google browser, the one with all the cookies.
I was just wondering, maybe it makes no difference at all... but if it made any, that would be interesting to know which one.
Just my musings of yesterday ;-)
I do my research in the same browser that customers use. Which isn’t the private one.I’ve never noticed any differences though.
@@paulmarles OK, thank you.
I've always been said that Google, Amazon and others show you search results based on your browsing history (In Amazon, you have a whole line of "items you should like" based on your navigation history). I just wondered what would happen if you do your research without letting Amazon take you browsing history into consideration. But of course, you should unlog from Amazon to do your research, then, otherwise they would pick up right away from your account ;-)
Just musings... :-)
Thanks a lot for answering !
Really helpful video - thank you! Are you finding that news books you've uploaded in the past couple of months are still selling and ranking organically or do you think that as the number of KDP sellers continues to increase it's becoming necessary to run ads more or less from the start in order to gain traction?
No. They seem to sell fine. If the keyword research is done right then you would be finding less competitive keywords to rank for organically.
Brilliant, thank you.
Hi Paul, Please how can I know if my ad is running.
Am only seeing "Delivering"
Delivering means it is running.
Paul, I've been trying to fill out the 'billing and payment' section which is required before running an ad campaign. I'm new to KDP and haven't filled in any of the financials needed before advertising.
I've run into a snag - it won't allow me to click on the 'I accept and acknowledge all the terms and conditions of the VAT agreement' without filling in the VAT registration number. Do I have to be VAT registered first?
Do you have a video that addresses this? Thanks!
No, you don’t need to be VAT registered to run ad campaigns.
28%, that's oddly specific. At $6.99, you receive 70% royalty from your book. (Kindle correct?) Then your breakeven ACOS should be 70% right? Also, does Amazon figure Kindle Unlimited downloads/pagereads into the ACOS number?
No, the books are not kindle, they're paperback. The royalty on a 6.99 book is approx. 1.90
I did ads on my book but I dont know how to login the dashboard to check it ,do I have to register on Amazon advertising site or something else I'm really confused, please let me know what should I do
The login to ads is the same as your KDP login.
I'm running an automatic campaign for my one coloring book. I don't understand why I have high impressions but no clicks or sales? Am I doing something wrong?
If you’re not getting clicks then it’s usually down to cover design, title , price. Or you’ve not had enough impressions yet to gather enough data.
Awesome!
Pow best can i advertise them?
Watch my playlist on Amazon ads.
Are you using Amazon's automatic targeting or a manual campaign?
I do both. Usually start with an auto campaign though.
Hi Paul, thanks for this great video! Is there a benchmark tool/chart you are using to optimize performance?
If you watch some of the other videos on ads I explain how I monitor and what metrics I look at and control
but how can stop my ads paul ?
Where are you? on a boat?
Yes.
I have a question: have you dealt with having any of your books blocked? I had mine blocked without even been published yet. 😳
No. What exactly do you mean by blocked?
hello
Why don't You just pause those keywords?
Yes, you can do that.
MY keywords has high iq but i have 4000 impression after months
How many months?
1 months