How to Play Paladins of the West Kingdom (Rules School) with the Game Boy Geek

Поділитися
Вставка
  • Опубліковано 15 лип 2024
  • Skip the rule book and learn how to play Paladins of the West Kingdom by Renegade Game Studios
    If you have more questions about the rules, place them here - boardgamegeek.com/video/23893...
    1:11 - One MInute Overview
    2:11 - Setup
    7:11 - Object of the Game
    7:48 - Flow of the Game
    7:59 - Reveal King’s Order / Favor Cards
    8:30 - Reveal Tavern Cards
    8:41 - Draw 3 Paladin Cards
    9:09 - Reveal Paladin & Collect Workers
    9:23 - Collect Workers From Tavern
    9:37 - Taking a Criminal
    9:54 - Taking From the Tax Supply
    10:19 - Taking Actions
    10:50 - Develop
    12:18 - Hunt & Trade
    12:49 - Recruit
    14:24 - Taking a Debt
    14:49 - Pray
    15:23 - Conspire
    15:54 - Commission
    18:18 - Fortify
    19:25 - Garrison
    20:08 - Absolve
    21:12 - Attack
    22:51 - Convert
    23:49 - Inquisition
    24:59 - End of Action Phase
    25:09 - Cleanup Phase
    26:09 - End of the Game
    26:17 - Final Scoring
    See all the Rules School’s here - www.gameboygeek.com/rules-school
    BGG Link: boardgamegeek.com/boardgame/2...
    The Game Boy Geek Produces Hi-Quality, Hi-Energy Board Games review with new content at least every other day.
    Meet up on these Web & social media platforms:
    Website - www.GameBoyGeek.com
    Facebook - / thegameboygeek
    Twitter - / thegameboygeek
    Instagram - / thegameboygeek
    Podcast - RSS - gameboygeek.podbean.com/feed/
    Podcast iTunes - podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast...
  • Ігри

КОМЕНТАРІ • 75

  • @tiagoazevedosoares
    @tiagoazevedosoares 4 роки тому +90

    At 22:36 you say that when you attack an outsider with the lightning symbol you immediately get the lightning bonuses, but that only applies to the top bonus (the lightning in the red background). The lightning bonus in gray lightning at the bottom of the card that you highlighted, is only triggered when you convert an outsider. It actually makes thematic sense. You increase your strength only when you convert, because you're adding more people to your army.

    • @wicked8576
      @wicked8576 4 роки тому +10

      thanks for clearing that up.. I was going to read that part of the rulebook again because I thought it was the way you said. funny that thegameboygeek did not reply to your comment, neither did he correct his false explanation..?! but I just saw he replied to another comment talking about the same issue and there actually is a correction in the video which I did not see the first time.. ^^

  • @carlwadley1175
    @carlwadley1175 4 роки тому +9

    Yesterday after reading through rule book = head in hands, miserable, gave up.
    Today after watching video = game-board set up, ready to play!
    Great walk-through GBG

    • @TheGameBoyGeeks
      @TheGameBoyGeeks  4 роки тому

      Glad I could help!

    • @sanderanders
      @sanderanders 2 роки тому

      @@TheGameBoyGeeks but still there is an error in your vid at 22:36. Maybe correct it?

  • @louiecarlos244
    @louiecarlos244 4 роки тому +12

    I can’t thank you enough for this! Your rules school series is hands down the best tutorial video for playing board games. Hopefully you can produce more of this. Cheers! 🙌🏼

    • @TheGameBoyGeeks
      @TheGameBoyGeeks  4 роки тому +1

      Thanks Louie! More? I have produced almost 200 Rules Schools! :) ua-cam.com/play/PLSn1bMZH_6Q2mmkGNOEGz-LVJ95fdVMcl.html

  • @Tamiro4711
    @Tamiro4711 4 роки тому +2

    Very well explained and structured. Thank you!

  • @MaliceMonger
    @MaliceMonger 4 роки тому +3

    Wow this helped us so much and you even managed to cover everything in the game in 28 mins. That's impressive!

  • @marks6928
    @marks6928 Рік тому

    This video helped so much, thank you! You did a great job and I’ve now fallen in love with this game. Thank you!

  • @netmommy4
    @netmommy4 4 роки тому

    Excellent rules explanation! Thanks, that saved me a lot of time :)

  • @scyldscefing3913
    @scyldscefing3913 3 роки тому

    Excellent introduction. I've got this thanks to you.

  • @soukouluis95
    @soukouluis95 4 роки тому

    Very handy. Thank you.

  • @KilerBeeXL
    @KilerBeeXL 4 роки тому

    Thank you for this! :). You should get definetly more views!!!

  • @inj3ction
    @inj3ction 4 роки тому

    Superb explanation, thank you for the video!

  • @unachimba9
    @unachimba9 4 роки тому

    Very clear and useful.

  • @boardgameschill3495
    @boardgameschill3495 4 роки тому

    Great video! Thank you.

  • @benanddaniellereviews
    @benanddaniellereviews 2 роки тому

    Thank you Dan!

  • @geurt681
    @geurt681 4 роки тому

    Hello Dan, played Paladins 3 times now and I must say: those suspicion cards are not so bad at all. Had a nice combo during one of the games when you receive extra workers when flipping your debt cards with gaining points at the end of the game for each debt card flipped. So you already know what I did: I took a lot of suspicion cards and made sure that the tax money ran out pretty soon. It gave me about 13 points at the end of the game.

  • @paolopiccione7470
    @paolopiccione7470 4 роки тому +5

    Thank you, this is a great video. One question on Attack, see 22:36. After an attack the player gains an influence pt + other benefits appearing on the right top corner of the outsider, AND ALSO the strength points appearing on the lower left corner?

    • @TheGameBoyGeeks
      @TheGameBoyGeeks  4 роки тому +4

      No this was a mistake that got passed both myself and the publisher (the highlight was wrong it should have been in the upper right). The pop up in the upper right tries to clarify that at that moment in the video. Sorry for the confusion.

  • @wicked8576
    @wicked8576 4 роки тому

    when you explain the inquisition: isn't the second coin taken from the tax after the inquisition? I got to read that again in the rulebook.. great rules video btw. I am still trying to find the time to finally play this one solo, but hope to play it multiplayer as well soon!? :)

  • @xllYllx
    @xllYllx Рік тому +2

    Is there a mistake at 14:00? I thought you had just said that you do not do both discard (quest) and recruit to your board, but the video shows that you're doing so?

  • @spiozke
    @spiozke 4 роки тому

    Got it crystal clear

  • @geurt681
    @geurt681 4 роки тому

    Hello Dan, thank you so very much for this very clear set-up and rules video.
    I have 1 question: losing Suspicion has no other reason than have fewer Suspicion when another Inquisition occurs and thus have lesser chance to gain a debt card?

  • @thephantomhennes
    @thephantomhennes 4 роки тому

    Very nice. Thanks. Do you get a suspicion card no matter how you get the purple worker? For example, with the cards you draft at the beginning, as a bonus with other characters that you obtain? Also, with those characters that you either flip over or keep up in front of your board, do you get the lightning bonus in the middle of the card either way? Thanks again.

    • @TheGameBoyGeeks
      @TheGameBoyGeeks  4 роки тому +1

      Yes anyway you get a purple worker you gain suspicion. The lightning for the outsiders is triggered differently. If you attack them and put them facedown activate the one in the upper right. If you convert them place them faceup under your board and activate the bottom left one.

    • @thephantomhennes
      @thephantomhennes 4 роки тому

      @@TheGameBoyGeeks Thanks.

  • @brandonsurowiec8789
    @brandonsurowiec8789 4 роки тому +1

    I haven't played the game, but when you attack an outsider i'm pretty sure you only get the upper-right benefit of the card. Not the bottom left immediate benefit also. That is reserved only for converting. ua-cam.com/video/4u2s0Dboong/v-deo.html

  • @AceHardy
    @AceHardy 4 роки тому

    🙏🏽✍️

  • @zrinkomaloseja2615
    @zrinkomaloseja2615 4 роки тому

    3 coins and 1 provision at the start to each player. that legend on top of the main baord is for inquisition.

  • @m.g.9537
    @m.g.9537 4 роки тому +4

    Hi, in the german rulebook it says, that you get the instant bonus ON THE BOTTOM for the outsider cards only if you convert them (not attacking!). The same logic with the townsfolk cards . Are the english rules diffrent worded here?

    • @TheGameBoyGeeks
      @TheGameBoyGeeks  4 роки тому +2

      The highlight shown should have been in the upper right. There is a notation that pops up in the upper right in the video that clarifies this. Thanks.

    • @franciscorojas8088
      @franciscorojas8088 3 роки тому

      @@TheGameBoyGeeks Hi!, I just watched the video and there isn't a notation. Thankfully the top comment clarifies that.

  • @Hakucho64
    @Hakucho64 11 місяців тому

    At 11:28 you say you’re taking a cleric (or clerk) and then hold up a white meeple which you previously called a labourer.

  • @sharingmatters
    @sharingmatters 4 роки тому

    Good tutorial. Thanks. Which font is it at the bottom of the screen?

    • @TheGameBoyGeeks
      @TheGameBoyGeeks  4 роки тому

      I can;t remember what it's called but it was a custom one I Bought

  • @elvaliente8772
    @elvaliente8772 Рік тому

    when i do commission and garrison I can place my pieces in any spaces that are equal or below my fait or strengh according to each action right? lets say i have 4 faith i can go to the spaces that require 0 2 or 4 faith when i commission or i can only go the the one that matches my attribute?

    • @TheGameBoyGeeks
      @TheGameBoyGeeks  Рік тому

      It's been so long since I've looked at that rule book. Best to place the question in the lnk I provided in the description. The designer/publisher will probably reply.

  • @mod_noise
    @mod_noise 5 місяців тому

    I've got 2 questions:
    1. Where do you keep recruited Townsfolk cards? Just nearby your player board?
    2. For each purple meeple being taken, I should take 1 Suspicion card, right? So, even if one effect or card tells me to take 2 purple meeples, I take 2 suspicion cards?

    • @TheGameBoyGeeks
      @TheGameBoyGeeks  5 місяців тому

      If you use the link in the description for further questions, the Publisher and or designer should chime in.

  • @amirrezarasoulian8815
    @amirrezarasoulian8815 4 роки тому

    ok, can someone please answer my question? On Trade and Hunt action, can someone place just one worker on the place that gives you 2provison or coin? and yes the same color it requires I mean? or place 2worker on 2 different turn? or you have to place 1 or 2 at same time like Recruiting?

    • @TheGameBoyGeeks
      @TheGameBoyGeeks  4 роки тому

      You must place both workers at the same time to get the 2 provision or 2 coin.

    • @amirrezarasoulian8815
      @amirrezarasoulian8815 4 роки тому

      TheGameBoyGeek - Hi Quality Hi Energy Board Game Reviews Ok, another question if I may, when you develop and pick up e Workshop, the reward underneath the workshop is just one time or at the beginning of each round you can pick up those worker who been revealed??

    • @TheLuminousCleric
      @TheLuminousCleric 3 роки тому

      @@amirrezarasoulian8815 One time.

  • @Renzuo77
    @Renzuo77 4 роки тому

    Hi Dan, question : at 16:33 you mentioned that we have 4 influence. How and where did we receive those 4 influence points from?

    • @TheGameBoyGeeks
      @TheGameBoyGeeks  4 роки тому

      That wast showing how that track works. If the blue were at 4 you'd have 4 influence, if the red 4 was there, 4 strength, black there 4 faith for example.

  • @Mac-em2by
    @Mac-em2by 3 роки тому

    6:26 that's not in my rulebook?

  • @MD-et8kz
    @MD-et8kz 3 роки тому

    shem phillips designs are my favorite as im a solo gamer.but man those pub cards just destroyed the game for me with my colorblindness with the blue and purple workers.the meeples colors are fine but its way too close on the cards.im sleeving the game and im gonna have to have my wife mark the cards for me.

  • @rygelxix
    @rygelxix 4 роки тому

    GameBoyGeek, have you reviewed this game as well?

    • @TheGameBoyGeeks
      @TheGameBoyGeeks  4 роки тому

      It's filmed! Just need to edit it. Expect it next week!

    • @rygelxix
      @rygelxix 4 роки тому

      Look forward to it! I really like the look of this game and how there are so many options!

  • @Khelben7
    @Khelben7 4 роки тому

    Is that jazz in the background..?

  • @havenao
    @havenao 4 роки тому +1

    You said you can't take both recruit actions when you place 2 workers there, but then immediately demonstrated doing both, saying: you might want to take the discard, and if you want to recruit this card. So... I'm confused, can I take both or not?

    • @TheGameBoyGeeks
      @TheGameBoyGeeks  4 роки тому +2

      Sorry for the confusion! Yes if you pay one worker you discard, if you pay two workers you recruit!

  • @InfamousHotSpot
    @InfamousHotSpot 4 роки тому

    Mine didn't come with the set of criminals. I just got two sets of clerics

  • @ANCOLLSantosa
    @ANCOLLSantosa Рік тому

    Still ... the misrule in this video doesn't get corrected 😅

    • @TheGameBoyGeeks
      @TheGameBoyGeeks  Рік тому

      The publisher and designer had to approve the video, so maybe the rule got changed or re-interpreted after the fact as this came out before the game was available to anyone.

    • @ANCOLLSantosa
      @ANCOLLSantosa Рік тому

      @@TheGameBoyGeeks but still @Game Boy Geek, it contradicts the rule book.. , timestamp 22:30 you do Attack action you advance the BLUE, and if you do Convert action you advance the RED, it's already being PRINTED on the player board itself as a reminder.. please take a careful look and see other comments regarding this error..

  • @Skorrigan
    @Skorrigan 4 роки тому

    This RECRUIT iconography is confusing... Essentially, there should be a "+" sign between the places where you can place your meeples. That would solve the problem.

    • @TheLuminousCleric
      @TheLuminousCleric 3 роки тому

      For Recruit, you can do only one of the actions, not both. So adding a + sign would make it only more confusing.

  • @Medsas
    @Medsas 4 роки тому

    the intro theme is way too loud compared to the video, please normalize the volume, thanks